# **PRESS RELEASE**

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Doug Hanson, ILCAE Chair <u>dhanson@proharvestseeds.com</u> or Dean Dittmar, Executive Secretary, <u>ddittmar@ILAgEd.org</u>

## Illinois Leadership Council for Agricultural Education (ILCAE) Presents its 2019 Excellence Awards

November 19, 2019, Springfield, IL

## EXCELLENCE IN AGRIBUSINESS AWARD

Rod Stoll and Tami Craig Shilling were awarded the 2019 Excellence in Agribusiness Award. Rod is the Vice President, Marketplace Engagement for Farm Credit Illinois. Tami is the Agronomy Knowledge Transfer Lead with Bayer Crop Science. Ms. Shilling was raised on a farm, served as a state FFA officer, and continues to champion agricultural education through her work in the agriculture industry today. Mr. Stoll is another lifelong advocate of agricultural education starting with being raised on a farm to his multifaceted career.

The Excellence in Agribusiness award is given to a person or entity that has exhibited exemplary support for Illinois agricultural education through partnering efforts, information and/or product sharing, or public acknowledgement of advances in Illinois agricultural education.

### EXCELLENCE IN MEDIA AWARD

The 2019 Excellence in Media Award winner is Steve Bridge, Agribusiness Director for WFMB Radio. Mr. Bridge has become a proponent of the importance of agricultural education while in his role as WFMB's Agribusiness Director.

The Excellence in Media Award is given in recognition of reporters, writers, broadcasters, or information outlets that put forth efforts to showcase and promote Illinois agricultural education and its importance to Illinois and today's everchanging world.

### BILL JOHNSON ECELLENCE IN EDUCATION AWARD

Jane Quinlan, Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) Board Member, is the 2019 Bill Johnson Excellence in Education Award winner. Ms. Quinlan has been a supporter and advocate of agricultural education for many years during her tenure as the Champaign-Ford Regional Superintendent of Education and, now, as an ISBE board member.

The Bill Johnson Excellence in Education award recognizes individuals in the agricultural education field who have contributed to or significantly impacted Illinois agricultural education through years of dedication and caring. Visionary work and positive leadership are just two examples why a person is nominated for this award.

### JIM GUILINGER LEGISLATIVE AWARD

Illinois Senators Andy Manar, 48<sup>th</sup> District, and Dave Syverson, 35<sup>th</sup> District alongside Illinois Representatives Nathan Reitz, 116<sup>th</sup> District, and Norine Hammond, 93<sup>rd</sup> District were the recipients of the 2019 Jim Guilinger Legislative Award. These four legislators have shown their commitment and support of agricultural education through committee work and support of Illinois students and their educational opportunities.

The Jim Guilinger Legislative Award is presented to legislators who advocate for and have been publicly supportive of Illinois agricultural education. These legislators understand the importance of the agricultural industry that makes up about a quarter of Illinois' jobs. They also know the extreme importance of today's youth understanding the ever-evolving and expanding agricultural industry with the knowledge gained through a current and progressive agricultural education.

### PERRY SCHNEIDER SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARD

Melissa Lamczyk, Franklin County Agriculture-In-The Classroom (AITC) Coordinator received the 2019 Perry Schneider Special Recognition Award. Ms. Lamczyk works tireless hours to ensure the elementary students of Franklin County are informed about the vast importance and presence of agriculture in their lives and the world.

The Perry Schneider Special Recognition award is presented to people whose work and/or efforts do not fit into any of the other specific ILCAE award categories. These agricultural education champions have shown distinctive dedication to Illinois agricultural education or have gone above and beyond what is required of them in the area of agricultural education.