EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AWARD WINNERS



DISTRICT 1 RODNEY MAIN ROWVA at Oneida JEFF MAIERHOFER Seneca DISTRICT 3 MARY BARNES Pleasant Hill

CASSIE CROUCH Maroa-Forsyth

DISTRICT 4

DISTRICT 5 JASON HUSEMAN Trico at Campbell Hill



STATE WINNER: JEFF MAIERHOFER

The 2019 Illinois Association of Vocational Agriculture Teachers Excellence in Teaching Award winner is Jeff Maierhofer from Seneca High School. For 30 years Maierhofer has been a part of the agricultural education program at SHS where they believe in the three-circle model of agricultural education. Jeff considers himself a facilitator who provides real-life and memorable experiences in the classroom, with FFA activities, and in individualized Supervised Agricultural Experience Programs. Although he believes that adequate and upto-date facilities are essential for a successful Ag Ed program, he feels that the whole world can be used as a classroom. Maierhofer believes that the long term success of the SHS Ag Ed program and the Seneca FFA is because of the respect that the staff has shown to each and every student and the individual treatment that each student receives as they are led towards personal growth and career success.