Illinois Agricultural Education & FFA   Contact               
  Home » Teach » About IAVAT
Committee Structure      
IAVAT members have the opportunity to serve on one of eleven state committees for a three-year term, determined at district meetings during the annual IAVAT conference.  Policies for committee membership are as follows:
  • Each committee will meet a minimum of three times through the year.  This includes one meeting at June IAVAT Conference, plus two additional meetings through the school year.  Meetings may be in person or teleconference.
  • Each committee member must attend at least two meetings, verified by attendance lists sent with each committee report, to receive "X" values on the incentive funding form.
  • Committee reports will be shared through Google Drive to the IAVAT office and the IAVAT Vice-President within two weeks of each meeting.
  • Each committee member must be in good standing with the IAVAT. 
  • Any member not meeting committee responsibilities will be removed from the committee.
  • The final committee report from the committee chair is due to be shared through Google Drive to the Vice -President and IAVAT Executive Director no later than May 1st. Failure to send in this report by the deadline will cause forfeiture of the X-value by all committee members. 
For more questions on committee work, or to serve as a member-at-large, contact each committee chair.

Committee Lists & Descriptions      
Chair: Phil Wilkey, Watseka
Description: The purpose of the Advocacy committee is to influence Public Policy on agriculture education through workshops and seminars. The advocacy committee is responsible for developing a productive and communicative relationship with the Illinois State Legislature, Illinois State Board of Education, and the Division of Career and Technical Education. As a committee we promote a positive relationship between all agriculture education agencies.

Ag Ed Teacher Recruitment/Retention
Chair: Corinne Batterman, Manteno
Description: The Retention and Recruitment committee is responsible for coordinating a variety of activities that will encourage people to pursue a career in agricultural education including IAVAT Student Branch Conference. The committee is also responsible for retaining these teachers by planning events like 1-5 year teacher workshop. The committee will also be working on Quality Guidelines for teacher success.

Career Development Event Advisory
Chair: Darin Blunier, Midland
Description: The CDE committee annually reviews specific Career Development Events on a rotational basis.  In addition, we address any CDE concerns that come up throughout the year and make recommendations to the IAVAT Board.  The committee also assigns advisors to each event to help with the review process. CDEs under review for 2015 include: Land Use, Dairy Cattle Evaluation, Horticulture, and Parliamentary Procedure.

Curriculum Advisory
Chair: Emily McClure, Hoopeston

Fair & Exposition Advisory
Chair: Chad Mahler, Serena
Description: The purpose of the fair & exposition committee is to aid in the development and improvement of the Fair program, assist at the Illinois State Fair during the Junior Shows and Market Lamb weigh-in, review all fair rules and guidelines, and provide voting membership and recommendations to the Illinois State Fair Advisory Committee.

ICAE Advisory
Chair: Jody Heavner, Pittsfield

Member Services
Chair: Kara Barling, Heyworth
Description: The purpose of the member services committee is to enhance IAVAT member experience by providing unique and necessary opportunities and services. The membership services committee develops programs, manages crisis funds, and explores desired services within the organization.

Professional Development
Chair: Joe Steffen, Newark
Description: The purpose of the professional development committee is to design professional development activities for the Illinois Association of Vocational Agriculture Teachers Conference, 212 Conference, District Workshops and others as needed.

Chair: Corrine Wascher, Galesburg
Description: The purpose of the recognition and awards committee is to recognize outstanding IAVAT members for their hard work and dedication to our profession. The committee now selects winners in all of the NAAE awards categories as well as the Excellence in Teaching awards.

SAE Advisory
Chair: Mitch Miller, Midwest Central
Description: The purpose of the SAE Advisory committee is to support teachers in promoting SAEs to their students, implement record keeping systems and evaluate current systems, provide resources to teachers, and encourage every student to have an active SAE.

Special Projects & Resolutions
Chair: Ariel Bunting, Ridgeview

Middle School Engagement
Chair: Courtney Gerstenecker, Carlyle
Description: The purpose of the Middle School committee is to develop and maintain Middle School specific initiatives for students and teachers alike. As the middle school model is developed and created the committee will serve to identify appropriate and responsible program components to successfully sustain Middle School development in Illinois.

Leadership Camp Advisory
Chair: Matt Meyer, Mendota

About Ag Ed
Who We Are
Secondary/HS Programs
Colleges & Universities
About Illinois FFA
Award Programs & Scholarships
Career & Leadership Events
Illinois FFA Newsletter
College Students
Ag Career Websites
Educator Resources
Ag Ed Advocacy
Ag Ed Careers
Career & Leadership Events
Professional Development
Postsecondary Instructors
Illinois Teach Ag
About the Alumni
Join the FFA Alumni
Illinois FFA Alumni Council
Alumni Annual Meeting
Student Scholarships
About the Foundation
Ways to Give
How Can You Help
Past Member? Reconnect!
  Copyright Illinois Agricultural Education & FFA © 2020. All rights reserved.
Website designed by Wieghat Graphics, Inc.